6 comments on “An Overlooked Verse

  1. So true. I’m reminded of the familiar verse “If my people who are called by name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” II Chronicles 7:14. We always “preach” that verse – the last part, but we leave out, “humble themselves, seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways. . . ”

    God’s promises are sometimes conditional – “if, then” – and we forget that. We want the “then” part but fight doing the “if” part.

    Great post. Praying for you today, my friend.

    • Thank you for reminding me that I have a part to play in some of God’s promises. His love is unconditional, but not all of His promises are. Hmph.

      Thanks for the prayers, Mary!

  2. That’s so crazy. I never ready just 29:11 anymore. I always have to read the next two verses. God is teaching me lately to know what it is like to say “yes” and to see radical change. I need to be ok with change. God is constant. I need to change to reflect more of Him. That hurts to write knowing that I don’t often do that.

    • I feel the hurt in writing something you don’t want to face (why do you think I have this blog…?) I love that you are learning the lesson of ‘yes’. It had to be drilled into my head that often when we are comfortable, we are not following Christ. It’s not ALWAYS true, but any means, but it’s a good check. Christ moves in restlessness, He moves when we are out of comfort zones because we must look to Him for protection, provision, and trust. He’s moving you to do something, Nate! Love that you’re saying ‘yes’!!

  3. The part I always get caught up on is “and I will hear you.” In a time where no one is ever fully paying attention to you, that’s honey to my heart. even though i don’t like honey. mmm.

    but i too am challenged by that seeking God with our whole heart part. i’m too good at only seeking Him in the areas of my life that are “conveniently broken.”

    • Oh Coop! I love your heart, you know that? God sees and hears and knows. He pays attention even when we don’t know He is (sneaky!). I’m so grateful that my Creator hears me and you while controlling the sun and the moon. It just blows my mind!

      You sook (seeked..?) Him out during your 90 day marathon! I’ll be praying about this for you!

Leave a Reply

