9 comments on “Unexpected Places

  1. I love this post. I also have learned unconditional acceptance from a group of secular friends and been very surprised by it. I have been told by many people that I see situations as black and white too often…I think we are similar in many ways!

    • Our lazy rivers are parallel, Valerie! I’m so glad you are part of our small group! I’ve really loved getting to know you these past few months! It’s been awesome to see you blossom in your faith. So glad Christ is using surprising situations in your life too 🙂

  2. Being the Pharisees that Jesus called out mercilessly and repeatedly is something all too common in Christiandom today and something that I personally always fear becoming.

    A very nice post.

    • Your comment made me re-read my post because I was fairly certain that I had used the word ‘Pharisee’. I meant to so thanks for reading my mind and regurgitating that word in a comment! I’m grateful that God has shown me this area in which I can be too legalistic and less compassionate. I don’t want my knowledge of God to overshadow my desire to know HIs heart. Unfortunately, that’s all too easy for me to do.

      Thanks for stopping by, Peirce!

  3. what a beautiful picture…and it so hurts my heart at how that kind of community and acceptance is often found outside of that christian college and group…I’ve definitely experienced how it isn’t always there and how sometimes I find it in the least likely of places.

    • These guys challenge me to bring that love and embracing to those around me. This picture challenges me to be different in all areas of my life..and not just to the ‘secular’ friends I have. The church culture is not perfect and I want to be shown ways in which I can heal the broken.

      Thanks for stopping by, Katy! Love that Christ is showing up in unexpected ways for you too!

Leave a Reply

