13 comments on “His Strength in My Weakness(es)

  1. Girl!
    Are we on the same wavelength this week or what?!?! I love this post. I am right there with you too! ((Hugs))

    xxx M.

  2. this is at the crux of the beauty in my brokenness… that when i’m at my weakest, He is somehow strongest. and THAT is what makes these dark nights of my soul so beautiful.

    i need to be more mindful of this holy truth. if i were — if i truly believed God’s strength was perfected in my weakness — i wouldn’t try so hard to look strong, to appear all-together, to wear the mask that says everything is okay. i would let my raw, real crap show, trusting that He will show up in His grace and power, and make something truly beautiful out of it.

    make something truly beautiful out of ME.

    • I think you do that more than you recognize. You have such beauty when you let down your guard and expose your struggles. I love that about you!

      I like how you tied this post in with beauty, also. I haven’t stopped thinking about it and adding more parts to my expanding definition.

      Thank you for being raw and honest…and beautiful.

  3. Most days I feel the same as you…
    I’ve had to stand on the truth that apart from Christ I can do nothing.

    “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5

    • Hey Manda! Thanks for your thoughts! I love that passage that you cited. And it’s true…apart from Christ, I am nothing and can do nothing. Without my Father, I will fail. He brings me strength, He brings me comfort, and He brings me courage.

  4. I found you from Sarah’s blog. I loved what you wrote there and what you have written here.

    I know this…. weakness is the greatest place I have ever been.
    Because in my weakness He becomes my strength. I love that about Him. I used to think that weakness was a failure but I’ve come to learn it is the greatest place I could be. I love how He comes for me in my weakness.

    I know He will come for you too. I know because He told me.

    He is an expert at taking the ashes of our lives and turning them into beauty. I love what He has done in me.

    It’s great to meet you! I’d love to have you visit my blog if you would like. I love meeting new people! My web address is: http://jewelsightings.blogspot.com

    • Thanks for stopping by, Julie! I’m slowly learning to let my weaknesses show in order to bring Him glory. It’s a process and one that seems to have more twists and turns than I thought possible! Thanks for your words of encouragement as well. I’ll be sure to check out your blog!

  5. I have a very sckewed view of real strength. I think it has to be guarded and tough. I think being strong depends me to not show emotion, but that i’m “handling it.” Strengths misconception is showing how much I can take on all on my own. Suck! So not true strength. There is no room for my strength in his. Self-sufficiency means my strength. I crave the exhale of his strength. That will mean choosing weakness for me.

    • Would you get out of my mind and stop stealing my thoughts! What you wrote is exactly how I view strength: being able to handle whatever comes my way without emotion and with complete control. That is such a lie I have bought into wholeheartedly! I too must choose the weakness to really learn strength. So illogical!

  6. I think, as with the cross, our darkest hour is one of God’s finest moments. It’s there where he does he greatest work, albeit unseen to us due to a multitude of reasons. He is scandalous, which is one of the many reasons why I love him.

    • I love that you called God scandalous! That made me laugh out loud! When I look back on my life, the darkest, hardest times are the times God really was holding me and giving me strength. Since He is the same today, yesterday, and tomorrow, chances are He’ll be right there with me in current and future hardships as well. Light is seen best in darkness and for that, I must be grateful and hopeful.

  7. Pingback: Book of Easy Answers « Proems on Not Yet

Leave a Reply

